Apple Picking at Farms and Orchards in Massachusetts


Apple-picking season is here, and it’s time to stock up on that favorite fall fruit. Countless farms across the state are opening their orchards to the public. Here are a just a few:

 

• Autumn Hills Orchards, 495 Chicopee Row, Groton. 978-448-8388; autumnhillsorchard.com. Pick from apple varieties like Cortland and MacIntosh from September through October among other fruits. Anyone is welcome to come on the weekends while weekdays are by appointment. 

• Berlin Orchards, Rt. 62 and Lower Sawyer HIll Road, Berlin. 978-838-2400; berlinorchards.com. Choose from Honey Crisp, Golden Supreme, Macs, Gala and Cortland apples.  Hay wagon rides run on Saturdays and Sundays to take you into and out of the orchard to pick your apples. Enjoy pony rides, face and pumpkin painting, and don’t forget to visit the barnyard animals!


 C.N. Smith Farm Inc., 325 South Street, East Bridgewater. 508-378-2270; cnsmithfarminc.com. Wednesday through Sunday you can pick your own apples. Visit cute farm animals, eat fresh cider donuts, and look around the garden center. Check the website for pricing.

 

• Davis Farmland, 145 Redstone Hill, Sterling. 978-422-6666; davisfarmland.com. Pick Macintosh and Cortlands starting the second week of September. Check the website for pricing.

 

• Honey Pot Hill Orchards, 138 Sudbury Road, Stow. 978-562-5666; honeypothill.com. 12 varieties available over the season. Medium bag (10lbs.), $18, allows three people into the orchard.

 

• Jane & Paul’s Farm Inc., 33 Fruit Street, Norfolk. 508-528-0812. Pick apples pumpkins and berries, feed the animals and get lost in the corn maze. Call ahead to get pricing information.

 
• Lanni Orchards, 294 Chase Road, Lunenberg. 978-582-6246; lanniorchards.com. Pick your own apples in September and October by the pound, not bag! Check the website for fun weekend events including their Apple Festival on Sept. 19-20.    
 

• Parlee Farms, 95 Farwell Road, Tyngsboro. 978-649-3854; parleefarms.com. Choose from more than 20 apple varieties. No admission fee. Pricing available on website.

 

• Russell Orchards, 143 Argilla Road, Ipswich. 978-356-5366; russellorchards.com. Pick from several varieties, daily Sept. and Oct. until crop runs out. Prices and admission fees vary, see website for details.

 Smolak Farms, 315 South Bradford Street, North Andover. 978-682-6332; smolakfarms.com. Find a bakery with fresh goodies, ice cream, hay rides and a corn maze at this pick your own apple orchard with more than 20 varieties. 
 

• Tangerini’s Spring Street Farm, 139 Spring Street, Millis. 508-376-5024; tangerinisfarm.com. Pick fresh apples among other fruits and vegetables and enjoy a delicious ice cream with lunch. No admission fee, see website for prices.
 

• Tougas Family Farm, 234 Ball St., Northboro. 508-393-6406; tougasfarm.com. Open Tuesday through Sunday, you’ll find a delicious crop of apples and pumpkins to pick. Their barnyard, playground and farm kitchen are family friendly activities all will enjoy. 

 

 

Find more pick-your-own orchards in Massachusetts at mass.gov/agr/massgrown/apple_pyo.htm.

Be the first to review this item!


Bookmark this

13 Sep 2013


Advertisement